Quiz/Exam Assignment

Philosophy 105-940, Last exam, Quiz #6. DUE: Thursday, September 3, by NOON. For each sentence below – each is ambiguous, each is an amphiboly, each has at least two meanings – write down two sentences, each one expressing precisely one meaning of the original sentence. Each sentence you write, of course, must have a meaning different from the other. When you write each of the two replacement sentences, make sure you are not repeating the ambiguity from the original sentence. All your sentences must be grammatically correct. Each sentences is worth 1 point for a total of 20 points. (10 x 2 x 1 = 20)

See Chapter 6 for plenty of examples of ambiguous sentences that have at least two meanings. Here is how to do a quiz item. Suppose the original sentence is: “I once shot an elephant in my pajamas.” The two replacement sentences might be:

a. I once shot an elephant who was wearing my pajamas. (Tight fit!)

b. Once while I was wearing my pajamas, I shot an elephant.

Note that this sentence would get you no points, because it repeats the original ambiguity:

“I once shot, in my pajamas, an elephant.” This sentence does not quite make it clear whether I or the elephant is wearing the pajamas. Neither does this sentence: In my pajamas, I once shot an elephant. Pay attention to the specific words in “a” and “b” that clarify who is wearing the pajamas. Some sentences are totally irrelevant (and wrong): I shot my pajamas once in the presence of an elephant (or a republican).

NAME __________________________________

1. Some people who shop too often spend more than they intended.

a.

b.

2. “Is your refrigerator running?”

a.

b.

3. “Don’t eat and swim.”

a.

b.

4. “I like killing flies.”

a.

b.

5. “I like reading books and empty boxes.”

a.

b.

6. “I drew a blank.”

a.
b.

7. He found a book about playing chess in the trash piles.

a.

b.

8. In our house, we serve our friends.

a.

b.

9. Yesterday I was shooting hoops with your son.

a.

b.

10. Sarah threatened to kill your brother by email.

a.

b.

Leave a Reply

