What is your own personal disaster recovery plan? Do you have a backup of your current system/files/portable devices? (USB flash drives, pictures from cameras, iPODs/MP3 players, phones, etc). If you do not have a plan, create one. It should include wha

Personal disaster recovery plan

In this age of disasters, I prefer backing up my most important information in high capability, high availability system. I prefer the storing my files, pictures, songs, and any other file format in the cloud. I have been using both Google drive offered by Google Inc and one drive a clouds storage service offered by Microsoft. These two are my choice because they are continuously operational for a very long length of time. These systems are never failing. I prefer using these systems for backup and failover processing. They are also useful when it comes to data storage and remote access.

My disaster recovery plan start from backing up my files as noted above. I back up my files on a weekly basis. This is done by digitizing all my hard copy files and storing in my hard drives, while storing the copies in both one drive and Google drive (Bill, 2012).

The second step is to ensure that my disaster recovery plan is effective my testing the disaster recovery plan start a mock up operation. I have a checklist that I use for ensuring that all my files are safe. My checklist include my inventory and report forms to ensure that each time there are problems check that I have all my back up copies. I also include the names of the files, the contents and the contacts of the vendors or the people I go6t them from.

Convert backups to virtual machines for instant disaster recovery and eliminate downtime. In the event of severe disruption such as fire, storm, landslide, earthquake, or computer failure due to virus or attack, I have hard copies of all my files that I need. These are stored in my garage which I consider I failover place for my operations. Therefore, just in case the hotmail one drive, and Google drive system crashes which is not possible, I have my hard copies that I can scan and store in hard drives and possible look for a proprietary private cloud system such as VMware which is launching new cloud service for disaster recovery (Wold, 1997).

I revise my plan each time a new concept comes up. For example, right now I am considering having my own private cloud that I will consider using by end of this year. This means that all my files are safe both in hard copies and in cloud.

References

Abram, Bill (14 June 2012). “5 Tips to Build an Effective Disaster Recovery Plan”. Small Business Computing

Wold, Geoffrey H. (1997). “Disaster Recovery Planning Process”. Volume 5 #1. Disaster Recovery World.

Leave a Reply

