I was born in Tehran, Iran. I moved to the United States around 7 years ago in order to achieve my goals that I have been wanting all my life. I moved to the U.S. to get the opportunity to have the best education for my sons and myself, and make my lifetime dreams a reality. My first priority in life has been my sons to get the best education and become somebody in their lives. I am 46 years old, and have two children and my husband passed away a couple years ago. My son is also attending the same school as well. When I was attending high school, there was a revolution in my country that lasted 7 years and all the school and universities were shut down due to the war and revolution. I have always had a dream of becoming a doctor but I did not get the chance of becoming one due to the situation in my country. Even though I did not have the opportunity to attend a university, I tried to attend private institutions in order to learn Spanish, French, and English. Later on when the situation in my country improved, there was a Scottish University that joined with the hospitality, tourism institution in Tehran. I received my bachelor art in hospitality and hotel management, since this was my only choice. Once I moved to the united states I tried to first organize my life, which my first priority was my younger son who was a teenager and new to the U.S. and on the other side I tried to start a new chapter in my life by attending a community college and reaching my personal goals. Once everything settled down, I had another heart-breaking event that stopped me from my education, which was my husband’s disease and passing away.
My desire to become a nurse practitioner is driven by personal experience and events in my life. For example, during the war in my country. I saw the injured people durign the strife in the country and there was no one to help them. When I come to the U.S, my husband fell ill, I felt weak, and I did not have any nursing skill. I realized that this is the course I need to take because it helped promote health education.
I want to be a nursing practitioner to be of use to the community and my country because I realized that this is what my people need. My children need someone who will be there for them when they fall sick. I do not want to be miserable again in life as I was when my husband and my son fell ill. I want to take a didactic and clinical course that will prepare me with specialized knowledge I require to deliver. I need to have the clinical competency to practice in both primary care and acute care. Additionally, my country, just like the U.S has a shortage of long-term care in their settings and this makes me much happier, that I may be of help to many people in need of acute care, and primary care.
Finally, I would like to advance the role, played by nursing practitioner as a way of ensuring that professional standards are set in my country and maintained. This, I realized I can only do successfully by being involved in professional organizations and also participating in health related policy activities in my country at the local level, provincial level, national levels and finally at the international level. This way, my didactic education and clinical experience would not only serve the local community, but also motivate others to join this noble course. I hope my humble request to join your college shall receive your kindest consideration.

I came to the U.S. From Tehran due to the conflicts in our country, believing that thus is the place I should be during these difficult times. Since then, I have had a number of life changing experiences that made my change my mind on the course I wanted to take and the job I wanted to do for the rest of life. On arriving here in the United States, 7 years ago, my husband fell ill and later passed away, then a few years back, my son was diagnosed with a life threatening medical condition. That is when I realized that I need to do a nursing related course to help my people when need arises. My first priority in life has been my sons to get the best education and become somebody in their lives. I am 46 years old, and have two children and my husband passed away a couple years ago. My son is also attending the same school as well.
When I was attending high school, there was a revolution in my country that lasted 7 years and all the school and universities were shut down due to the war and revolution. I have always had a dream of becoming a doctor but I did not get the chance of becoming one due to the situation in my country. Even though I did not have the opportunity to attend a university, I tried to attend private institutions in order to learn Spanish, French, and English. Later on when the situation in my country improved, there was a Scottish University that joined with the hospitality, tourism institution in Tehran. I received my bachelor art in hospitality and hotel management, since this was my only choice. Once I moved to the united states I tried to first organize my life, which my first priority was my younger son who was a teenager and new to the U.S. and on the other side I tried to start a new chapter in my life by attending a community college and reaching my personal goals.
I also chose nursing practitioner because it is relevant and matching with my earlier course in hospitality and tourism. Being a nurse practitioner is my goal in life, but getting the best college that offers a holistic approach is not easy so I chose the best one I know. I believe that your school is the best school that around here because I want a school where I can conveniently attend classes and still be bled to meet my family needs. I want a school where competence is the main goal because I want to be the best nurse practitioner. Being 46 years of age means that I have had enough life experience to make me desire to make my dreams come true. After having to face my husband’s illness and now my son’s medical condition, all that I need to know is how to prepare myself for any further eventuality in life. I have developed an achiever’s mentality to get back to the drawing board and come up with anew strategy, and the first thing I want to do is to complete this course.
The university, as I have come to learn, has competent and experienced lecturers and this mean that I will have the skills enabling me to perform comprehensive physical examination and also diagnose and treat the common acute illnesses and injuries. At this age, everyone wants to be sure theory have the skills they can use, and that is why want to join in a professional capacity
Being a nurse practitioner will be to me a life changing experience as I will now be able to handle medical cases with knowledge and skill and not be scared when faced with a medical situation.
I am compassionate, and hard working and these two traits will help me help people in need of medic al care irrespective of race, creed, and class. I also have a very strong work ethic and this is the only way I managed to attain a GPA of 3.9. I hope to continue with this winning streak during my course and the strong work ethics in the field on completing my course in your school. I believe that my life-work balance skills will enable me to maximize my time, talent, and skill. I also have excellent managerial skills and leadership quality. I am a team player with strong personality, and moral character. I believe that with all these skills, I am a perfect catch for the course, as I feel fit for the nursing practitioner program. I hop e your rigorous academic program will polish my natural abilities, skill, and character as I pre4pare for the nursing practitioner work

Texts: One of the stories from the PEN/O. Henry should be used as a foundation for your research paper and group project. For the research project, decide on both a theme and a perspective from the short story you would like to explore. Because you are working with at least one other person for the group project, make sure that you discuss with your group members how you will divide the projects and the research. Once you’ve decided on a theme and a perspective, conduct a search to find at least six additional sources to develop and support your research paper. (It is required that you have seven sources documented throughout your paper: the original story counts as one, and the supporting sources should make up the rest.) The other sources can be made up of journal articles, books, and critical commentaries written about the work and/or author. Please severely limit internet sources. If you use any general internet searching, you must get your sources approved by me. Keep in mind, your paper will be evaluated in great part by the extent and quality of your research. You should be able to find a good deal of information from the MiraCosta Library, either through the literature databases or in the stacks (goodness, real books!). You may not use any encyclopedic entries as support for your paper.
Discussion: The essays written in English 201 up to this point should prepare students for the final formal paper of the semester–the research paper. Through this capstone project, I ask that you integrate the writing skills you’ve aquired into a larger, more comprehensive, and more complex paper.
For the research paper, your goal should be to write a paper that explores a theme and a perspective you have discovered in a short story from the PEN/O. Henry. Your research, including general information and critical commentary, should support an arguable, thesis-driven paper.
“Theme”: Put simply, a theme is a topic plus a claim about that topic. Each of the stories found in the PEN/O. Henry includes several themes. Determine which theme is most interesting to you. Be sure to work with your group members so that you each work with a separate theme.
“Perspective”: As you begin the brainstorming process, it may be best to start with a perspective. Often, an interesting theme can be discovered through consideration of a perspective. All semester, we have focused on using an outside perspective to inform your essays and responses. For the research paper, use what you’ve learned about perspectives to help you write an interesting, complex paper. Ask yourself these types of questions:
Does the author’s story teach readers about culture, history, psychology, Marxism, postcolonialism, feminism, modernism, etc.?
Does an understanding of culture, history, psychology, Marxism, postcolonialism, feminism, modernism, etc. help the reader understand the author’s work?
As I evaluate your research paper, I will be looking for complexity and depth of thought. Using a perspective to inform your paper will strengthen the likelihood of a high evaluation.
Annotated Bibliography: You will be expected to include with your paper an annotated bibliography. Put simply, an annotation follows the citation and is a somewhat brief paragraph that explains pertinent information about the author and the content of the source cited. Annotated bibliographies help the writer gather and determine the best research for his or her paper.
Task: For your research paper, I ask that you write a 6-8 page thesis-driven essay that explores a theme and a perspective from one story found in the PEN/O. Henry. Your essay should be well-supported with at least seven different sources. You must synthesize good, solid research into your own writing. All quotes and paraphrases must be cited correctly within the paper, and all sources cited correctly within your Annotated Bibliography.
Requirements: MLA, 10-12 font, 6-8 pages in length, 7+ sources, correct in-text documentation, and a Works Cited list.

One thought on “

  1. Pingback: 24SevenWriters

Leave a Reply

